Elephant Timber Supplies is located in Hastings, a seaside town in East Sussex on the south coast.

Hastings is known for its rich history, beautiful beaches, and lively atmosphere, therefore, why not pay us a visit whilst also taking in the sites. Hastings boasts a long and fascinating history. The town itself dates back to the Roman era, but the area around Hastings has been inhabited for much longer. One of the most significant events in local history was the Battle of Hastings in 1066, which saw the Norman conquest of England. The town also played an important role as one of the Cinque Ports, a group of strategically important ports that were responsible for defending the English Channel.


Explore the history of Hastings

  • Hastings Castle: On the West Hill is the remains of Hastings’ Norman motte-and-bailey castle. About a third of the structure is still standing, including a cloistered chapel and dungeons. The castle was built by William the Conqueror after his victory at the Battle of Hastings in 1066.
  • Battle Abbey & Battlefield: Just to the north-west of Hastings, is Battle. A small market town home to the famous Battle Abbey and battlefield. Explore the grounds where the famous battle of 1066 took place.
  • Smugglers Adventure: Deep in the heart of Hastings’ West Hill lies the Smugglers Adventure, acres of caverns that conceal the history of smuggling, and feature more than seventy life-size characters, interactive displays, eerie lighting, sound effects and dramatic recreations.

Enjoy the outdoors

  • Beaches: Hastings has a beautiful coastline, with plenty of opportunities for swimming, sunbathing, and walking.
  • Alexandra Park: Hastings’ largest formal park, covering a vast area of approximately 109 acres (44 hectares) and stretching for 2.5 miles through the heart of the town. The park boasts a diverse landscape, featuring open meadows, woodlands, well-tended gardens, and charming pathways.
  • Hastings Country Park: You can also visit Hastings Country Park, a nature reserve with stunning views of the sea. Located to the eastern side of Hastings, access can be by foot from Old Town, via the East Hill railway, or by car to the car-park headings towards Fairlight.
  • Hastings Pier: Dating back to 1872, Hastings Pier runs for 280 metres into the English Channel. It was damaged by fire in 2010, and the subsequent renovation project won the coveted Stirling Prize for architecture in 2017. The pier houses a state-of-the-art exhibition in ‘the Deck’ visitor centre, a café with scenic views, plus family workshops, live music and street performers in summer.

Learn something new

  • Fishermen’s Museum: A small independent museum dedicated to the famous fishing industry and maritime history of Hastings, including visiting the deck of the last Hastings’ sailing lugger Enterprise, built in 1912.
  • Shipwreck Museum: An independent charitable museum that showcases a wide range of maritime artefacts recovered from numerous shipwrecks that occurred in the English Channel, specifically from the Goodwin Sands in Kent to Pevensey Bay in East Sussex.
  • Hastings Museum & Art Gallery: A family-friendly museum with amazingly diverse collections. Established over 125 years ago, the Museum offers local people and visitors the opportunity to explore art, culture and history from around the town and the world.

Have some fun 

  • Amusement Arcades: Hastings has a traditional seaside resort feel, with two large indoor amusement arcades packed full with 2p and 10p pushers, claw machines and small arcade games.
  • Mini Golf: Hastings seafront is home to three separately themed 18-hole courses. One of which is the setting of the annual World Crazy Golf Championship.
  • Fun Fair: Located beside the lake and Flamingo arcade, is a small fun-fair. Home to a rollercoaster, a wild mouse, dodgems, ghost train, and more. Fun for the whole family.
  • Miniature Railway: A charming 10 ¼ inch gauge miniature railway located on the seafront of Hastings Old Town. Established in 1948, it remains a popular tourist attraction for visitors of all ages. The railway features miniature steam and diesel locomotives that pull open carriages, allowing visitors to enjoy a leisurely ride along a picturesque track that runs for over 600 yards along the beach, known locally as “The Stade”.
  • Cliff Railways: Hastings is home to not one, but two separate funicular cliff railways. One on the East Hill and one on the West Hill. Named appropriately. For a small fee these Victorian railways are still in operation today.

Visiting Us?

If you would like to see our slabs of wood before you buy, please do visit us at our timber shop. Our normal opening hours are Monday-Friday 07:30 – 17:00. Please contact us on 07941 034 822 to make an appointment, as we are not always based in the workshop. Out-of-hours or weekend appointments can be made by arrangement.

Useful links